Tired Pony
One of Ellen's favorites, Tired Pony was formed in 2009 by Snow Patrol's Gary Lightbody as an outlet for his fascination with country music. Tired Pony is a full-fledged supergroup featuring another Snow Patrol veteran, Iain Archer, his wife Miriam Kaufmann, producer/musician Jacknife Lee, Belle & Sebastian percussionist Richard Colburn, auxiliary R.E.M. member Scott McCaughey, and Troy Stewart. Peter Buck joined several months later.

Their first album, "The Place We Ran From" featured guest appearances by Zooey Deschanel, M. Ward, and Editors frontman Tom Smith, was finished in one week and released in 2010.

Lightbody reassembled Tired Pony in 2012 and began writing music for their sophomore record. They retreated to Jacknife Lee's California-based home studio, where they recorded the tracks for "The Ghost of the Mountain." The album arrived in 2013 and featured a small number of guest appearances, including vocalist Bronagh Gallagher and actress Minnie Driver. Tired Pony performed on The Ellen DeGeneres Show in December 2013.

Keep in Touch with Tired Pony